Important days


Important Dates

2500-1750 Indus valley Civilization.
563-483 Buddha’s life-span.
540-468 Mahavir’s life-span.
327-326 Alexander’s invasion of India. It opened a land route between India and Europe.
322 Accession of Chandragupta Maurya.
305 Defeat of seleucus at the hands of Chandragupta Maurya.
273-232 Ashoka’s reign.
261 Conquest of kalinga.
145-101 Reign of Elara, the Chola king of sri Lanka.
58 Beginning of vikram era.
78 Beginning of saka era.
78-101 Kanishka’s reign.
319-320 Commencement of Gupta era.
380 Accession of Chandragupta II ‘Vikramaditya’.
405-411 Visit of Chinese traveller Fahien.
415 Accession of Kumaragupta I
455 Accession of Skandagupta.
606-647 Harshavardhan’s reign.
II- Medieval  
712 First invasion in sindh by Arabs (Mod. Bin Qasim).
836 Accession of king Bhoja of Kannauj.
985 Accession of Rajaraja, the Chola ruler.
998 Accession of Sultan Mahmud Ghazni.
1001 First invasion of India by Mahmud Ghazni who defeated jaipal, ruler of Punjab.
1025 Destruction of somnath Temple by Mahmud Ghazni.
1191 First Battle of Tarain.
1192 Second Battle of Tarain.
1206 Accession of Qutubuddin Aibak to the throne of Delhi.
1210 Death of Qutubuddin Aibak.
1221 Chengiz khan invaded India (Mongol invasion)
1236 Accession of Razia Sultana to the throne of Delhi.
1240 Death of Razia Sultana.
1296 Accession of Alauddin Khilji.
1316 Death of Alauddin khilji.
1325 Accession of Muhammad-bin-Tughlaq.
1327 Transfer of Capital from Delhi to Devagiri (Daulatabad) in Deccan by the Muhammad-bin-Tughlaq.
1336 Foundation of Vijayanagar empire in the South.
1351 Accession of Firoz Shah tughlaq.
1398 Timur’s Invasion of India.
1469 Birth of Guru Nanak.
1494 Accession of Babur in Farghana.
1497-98 First voyage of Vasco da Gama to India (discovery of sea route to India via the Cape of Good Hope)
1526 First Battle of panipat,Babur defeated Ibrahim Lodhi, foundation of Mughal dynasty by Babur.
1527 Battle of khanwa-Babur defeated Rana Sanga.
1530 Death of babur and accession of Humayun.
1539 Sher Shah Suri defeated Humayun in the battle of chausa and became India’s emperor.
1555 Humayun recaptured the throne of Delhi .
1556 Second Battle of panipat (Akbar defeated Hemu).
1556 Battle of Talikota (Rakshasa-Tangadi).
1576 Battle of Haldighati-Rana Pratap was defeated by Akbar.
1582 Din-i-Ilahi founded by Akbar.
1600 English East India Company established .
1605 Death of Akbar and accession of Jahangir.
1606 Execution of Guru Arjun Dev,the 5th Guru of Sikhs.
1611 Jahangir marries Nurjahan.
1615 Sir Thomas Roe visits Jahangir.
1627 Birth of Shivaji and death of Jahangir.
1628 Shahjahan becomes emperor of India.
1631 Death of Mumtazmahal.
1634 The English Permitted to trade in India (in Bengal).
1659 Accession of Aurangzeb, Shahjahan imprisoned.
1665 Shivaji imprisoned by Aurangzeb.
1666 Death of Shahjahan.
1675 Execution of Guru Teg Bahadur, the 9th Guru of Sikhs.
1680 Death of Shivaji.
1707 Death of Aurangzeb.
1708 Death of Guru Gobind Singh, the 10th Guru of Sikhs.
1739 Nadir Shah invades India.
1757 Battle of Plassey,establishment of British political rule in India at the hands of Lord Clive.
1761 Third Battle of Panipat.
1764 Battle of Buxar.
1765 Clive appointed Company’s Governor in India.
1767-69 First Anglo-Mysore War.
1780 Birth of Maharaja Ranjit Singh.
1780-84 Second Anglo-Mysore War.
1784 Pitt’s India Act.
1790-92 Third Anglo-Mysore War.
1793 The Permanent settlement of Bengal.
1799 Fourth Anglo-Mysore War-Death of Tipu Sultan.
1802 Treaty of Bassein.
1809 Treaty of Amritsar.
1829 Practice of sati Prohibited.
1830 Raja Rammohan Roy visits England.
1833 Death of Raja Rammohan Roy at Bristol, England.
1839 Death of Maharaja Ranjit Singh.
1839-42 First Anglo-Afghan War.
1845-46 First Anglo-Sikh war.
1852 Second Anglo-Burmese War.
1853 First Railway Line opened between Bombay and thane and a Telegraph line in Calcutta.
1857 The Sepoy Mutiny or First war of Independence.
1861 Brith of Rabindranath tagore.
1869 Birth of Mahatma Gandhi.
1885 Foundation of Indian National Congress.
1889 Birth of Jawaharlal Nehru.
1897 Birth of Subhash Chandra Bose.
1903 Tibet Expedition (Young Husband delegation)
1905 Partition of Bengal by Lord Curzon.
1906 Foundation of Muslim League by Salimullah (Nawab of Dhaka)at Dhaka.
1911 Delhi Darbar,king and Queen visit India,Delhi becomes the Capital of India.
1914 World War I Begins.
1916 Lucknow Pact signed by Muslim league and Congress.
1918 World war I ends.
1919 Montague-Chelmsford Reforms introduced, Jallianwala Bagh massacre at Amritsar.
1920 Khilafat Movement launched.
1927 Boycott of simon commission, broadcasting started in India.
1928 Death of Lala Lajpat Rai.
1929 Resolution of ‘Poorna Swaraj’(Complete independence) passed at Lahore session of INC.
1930 Civil disobedience movement launched,Dandi March by Mahatma Gandhi (April 6,1930).
1931 Gandhi –Irwin Pact .
1935 Government of India Act.
1937 Provincial Autonomy,Congress forms ministries.
1939 World war II begins (September 3).
1941 Escape of Subhash Chandra Bose from India ,Death of Rabindranath tagore.
1942 Arrival of Cripps Mission In India, Quit India movement launched (August 8).
1943-44 S.C.Bose formed provisional Government of free India and reorganized  Indian National Army in Singapore,Bengal famine.
1945 Trial of India National Army at Red Fort,Shimla Conference, World war II ends.
1946 British Cabinet Mission Visits India, Interim government formed at the Centre.
1947 Division of India, India & Pakistan form Separate independent dominions.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *